Select Page

Domestic Partnership

A registered domestic partnership (RDP) in Oregon is “a civil contract entered into between two individuals of the same sex who are at least 18 years of age, who are otherwise capable and at least one of whom is a resident of Oregon.” They can be easily established or distinguished by a few key elements:

  • Persons involved are a same-sex couple
  • Both parties are at least 18 years of age
  • One of the parties must be an Oregon resident
  • Are not already married or registered as the domestic partner of another person in any jurisdiction
  • Are not first cousins or any nearer of kin
  • Are mentally competent to consent to contract

If you have questions about Domestic Partnership in Colorado, contact us at (503) 626-2889.

Under Oregon law, you may register for a domestic partnership by:

  • Filling out a State Domestic Partnership Form
  • Have the form legally notarized
  • Present the notarized form to your local county office
  • Have a valid photo ID
  • Pay a Domestic Partnership Fee

Registered domestic partners (RDP) in Oregon receive the same tax benefits and treatment as married individuals in the state. Just as a married couple has the option to do so, you and your domestic partner may file taxes jointly or separately. However, as an RDP, you can’t file under single filing status on your Oregon return.

When it comes to questions about your legal rights, responsibilities or ways to dissolve a domestic partnership (separation or divorce), having the knowledge and opinion of an experienced domestic partnership attorney may be useful. In terms of dissolution, assets, shared property and children are all important subjects to address. 

 

Contact Us

If you have questions about your domestic partnership or are looking to start or end a domestic partnership, contact Helzer & Cromar Law today.