Failure to Register as a Sex Offender
If you have been convicted of a sex crime, you undoubtedly know that you will continue to pay for your crimes long after you have served your sentence. In Oregon, those convicted of sex crimes are required to register with the Oregon State Police. The failure to register with these officials can lead to additional criminal charges and a return to prison.
Portland Sex Offender Registry Lawyer
If you have been charged with the failure to register as a sex offender in Portland or in the surrounding areas, you need strong legal counsel. At the Beaverton law firm of Helzer & Cromar, we defend people against all types of sex crimes, including charges of failing to register as a sex offender.
Under Oregon law, sex offenders must register with the Oregon State Police on a number of occasions. Sex offenders must register within 10 days of their release from supervision. If you have been previously convicted of a sex offense in another state and move to Oregon, you must register within 10 days of your arrival. You must also register within 10 days of any change of address. Lastly, you are required to register each year within 10 days of your birthday.
The punishments involved with failing to register can be extremely serious. Failing to register upon release can be a Class C felony. Failing to register upon changing address can be a Class C felony or a Class A misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to five years in prison. Our law firm will look at the facts of your case to find all appropriate defenses. We will discuss your situation with the prosecution and use every legal tool at our disposal to achieve the best possible outcome.
Contact the Attorneys of Helzer & Cromar
Call 503-608-7851 or e-mail our law firm to schedule a consultation in Beaverton or the Portland area.
MasterCard and Visa Accepted